*To ensure streaming video plays properly on your system perform a test before you buy.
Having difficulty? Contact customer support.
Dr. Catherine Smallwood, Technical Officer, Health and Security Interface, Global Alert and Response, World Health Organization (WHO) will be key speaker, and will be joined by Nicolas Isla and Dr. Gilles Poumerol.  Dr. Robert Steffen will act as Moderator. The speakers will provide a broad overview of the approach taken by WHO on health protection at mass gatherings. They will discuss some specific details on WHO's activities for the big events this year, including recommendations for preventing illness associated with travel this summer to EURO 2012 in Poland and Ukraine and to the Olympics in London, United Kingdom.

Travel medicine practitioners who have travelers planning to attend these events or any mass gatherings as well as public health officials who may be involved with planning for mass gathering events, will find the information contained in this webinar informative and timely.

Attendee Takeaways:
  • Understand historic background of health issues related to mass gatherings.
  • Learn possible health issues for travelers going to EURO 2012 and London Olympics.
  • Consider recommendedations for own patients going to these events.

Webinar Objectives:

  • Discuss recommendations for prevention and management of health problems
  • Describe possible health issues for attendees for EURO 2012 and London Olympics and international health authority planning
  • Provide historic background, recent disease trends, and travel patterns at mass gathering events

Who Should Attend:
  • Family doctors and other primary care physicians, who evaluate patients planning to attend mass gatherings either as athletes or spectators, particularly EURO 2012 and London Olympics.
  • Travel medicine practitioners, including doctors, nurse practitioners, physician’s assistants, nurses, pharmacists.
  • Public health officials who may be involved with planning for mass gathering events.
  • Athletics directors who may be in a position to recommend health measures for the team members.

Date and Time:  30 May 2012 09.00 EDT UTC-04

09.00 New York
14.00 London
15.00 Frankfurt
15.00 Cape Town
18.30 New Delhi
21.00 Singapore
22.00 Tokyo

Click here for additional locations.


Estimated Length: 1 hour

Seminar Information
Date Presented:
May 30, 2012 9:00 AM Eastern
Length:
1 hour
Preparing Your Patients for Mass Gatherings: Euro 2012 and the London Olympics
Speaker Information
Dr. Maurizio Barbeschi   [ view bio ]
Dr. Gilles Poumerol   [ view bio ]
Dr. Catherine Smallwood   [ view bio ]
Dr. Robert Steffen, Switzerland   [ view bio ]
Individual topic purchase: Selected
Products
Recorded Access
ISTM Member Non Doctor: USD 25.00
ISTM Member Doctor: USD 30.00
Full Price: USD 50.00